FOUR Scottish schools have made the shortlist for a prestigious teaching award dubbed the “Oscars of education”, it has been announced.

The Tes Schools Award recognises and celebrates the best teachers and schools across the UK and this year Edinburgh, Falkirk, Renfrewshire, and West Dunbartonshire were all represented.

It has been confirmed that four Scottish schools have made this year's shortlists which are St Mungo’s High School, Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School, South Morningside Primary, and St Ninian’s High School.

The categories the four Scottish schools are shortlisted include Excellence in Creative Arts, Inclusive School of the Year, Primary School of the Year, and Secondary School of the Year.

READ MORE: Scottish ship named one of the best hotels in the world

The winners for each category will be announced on June 21 at a gala awards night at the Grosvenor Hotel in London.

Jon Severs, editor of Tes magazine said, "Congratulations to all the shortlisted entries - the standard was so high this year despite the challenges schools face.

“It is critical we celebrate excellence and share it widely so we can ensure that the fantastic work happening in education is properly recognised."

The shortlists were chosen by a panel of judges including school leaders and experts.

Subscribe to The National for just £20 for an entire year

There are 21 award categories, covering all areas of school education, and they showcase the best education across the industry in the UK.

Both state and independent schools are eligible for the awards, and primary, secondary, and early years are all represented.

Tes has been working with schools and teachers for more than 100 years and this year's awards ceremony marks its 16th anniversary.