A TOTAL of 72 serving MPs have so far announced that they will be standing down at the next election - likely over a year out from voters heading to polling stations.

We previously told how the number of MPs announcing they will not stand again at the next General Election is almost the same number who quit ahead of the 2019 Westminster vote.

Ahead of the 2019 poll, 74 MPs stood down.

READ MORE: SNP MP slams Tories for undermining Scotland's drug decriminalisation bid

Previously, Falkirk MP John McNally became the seventh SNP politician to announce he would not be seeking reelection.

But who are the other 71 MPs standing down, and how many are there in each party?

The National has compiled a handy searchable list below, and picked up some of the notable names who will be leaving the House of Commons benches behind.

The Tories

The National: Scottish Conservative party leader Douglas Ross (centre) and Secretary of State for Scotland Alister Jack (right) during a hustings event in Perth, Scotland, as part of the campaign to be leader of the Conservative Party and the next prime minister.

By far the largest number of MPs standing down from an individual party is from the Conservatives, with 44 MPs publicly stating they will not stand again.

However as the party has the most MPs in the House of Commons, a total of 352, this equated to just 12.5% of all of the party’s MPs.

Douglas Ross, Scottish Tory leader and Moray MP, announced way back in October 2021 he would not be standing for a Westminster seat again.

In May this year, Scottish Secretary Alister Jack also said he would not be standing in Dumfries and Galloway.

READ MORE: Gordon Brown previously backed devolution of drugs powers to Holyrood

Scottish MPs David Duguid, MP for Banff and Buchan, Andrew Bowie, MP for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine, and David Mundell, MP for Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweedale, have all confirmed that they will fight the next election. John Lamont, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk, has not made a public statement.

Former chancellor and health secretary Sajid Javid, MP for Bromsgrove, joins other Boris Johnson loyalists Nadine Dorries, MP for Mid Bedfordshire, and Dominic Raab, MP for Esher and Walton, in the long list of their colleagues who will not be returning to the Commons.


The National: harriet harman

While there are only 15 Labour MPs standing down ahead of the next election, this includes long-standing MPs Harriet Harman (pictured above), MP for Camberwell and Peckham, currently the longest-serving female MP having served continuously since October 1982, and Sir George Howarth, Knowsley, who has been an MP since 1986.

Dame Margaret Hodge, MP for Barking, has been a Labour MP since June 1994 and will also be leaving the Commons benches ahead of the next election.

Huddersfield MP Barry Sheerman, first elected in May 1979, and Dr Alan Whitehead, MP for Southampton Test since 1997, are also standing down.

READ MORE: Fury at DLC plans for 8000-acre 'playground' for mega rich on Loch Tay


The National: SNP depute leader at Westminster Mhairi Black announced she would be stepping down as an MP earlier this week

A total of seven SNP politicians have announced their intention to stand down, from the party’s 44 seats.

In June, Ian Blackford became the first SNP MP to announce he would be standing down from his Ross, Skye and Lochaber seat.

MP for Glenrothes Peter Grant, 62, ruled out seeking reelection due to his age. Lanark and Hamilton East MP Angela Crawley and Dunfermline and West Fife MP Douglas Chapman both announced they would be standing down at the end of June.

Dundee East MP and Treasury spokesperson Stewart Hosie said he would be standing down after 20 years in the Commons, while Paisley and Renfrewshire South MP Mhairi Black caused shockwaves after stating she would be leaving “toxic” Westminster behind.

McNally became the seventh SNP MP to signal he would stand down at the beginning of July.

Other parties and independents

The National: Caroline Lucas has argued England needs to catch up on the independence debate

Caroline Lucas (pictured above), Green MP for Brighton Pavillion, is set to leave after serving since 2010, the only member of her party to do so. Plaid Cymru loses Arfon MP Hywel Williams, who announced he would be standing down in November last year.

Four independents are also leaving the Commons, including disgraced former health secretary Matt Hancock, MP for West Suffolk, and Christopher Pincher, the former government whip who was suspended after being accused of assault.

The LibDems have not had any MPs announce they are standing down, though it should be noted there are only 14 in the Commons at the moment.