TWO Glasgow musicians are amongst the nominees in the 2022 Jazz FM awards.

Georgia Cecile and Fergus McCreadie have been nominated for the Vocalist of the Year and Album of the Year awards, respectively, in this year's event.

Cecile established herself as one of the UK’s emerging jazz-pop stars with her debut album Only the Lover Sings, which topped the UK Jazz and Blues charts and remained in the Top 20 for its first 20 weeks.

McCreadie also topped the UK Jazz and Blues charts with Forrest Floor and followed up on the album’s success by selling out the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh and a performance at the Love Supreme festival.

READ MORE: BBC slammed over John Knox 'cleared Catholics out of Scotland' comment

The two Scots will be in the company of other award nominee stars such as Oscar-winning Tonight Show star Questlove and singers Mavis Staples and Levon Helm as well as the Grammy-winning Robert Glasper.

Despite the plethora of established acts, the event, which launched in 2013, looks to champion and celebrate burgeoning talent across the UK.

Nick Pitts, content director at Jazz FM said: “I’d like to say a huge congratulations to all of the artists nominated for awards this year. The scene both in the UK and abroad continues to thrive, and competition for nominations is as fierce as ever so all of those we’ve included on the list are special talents who continue to push the boundaries and create incredible music.”

Peter Leathem, the CEO of event sponsor PPL, said: “We are proud to once again be co-headline sponsors for the Jazz FM Awards alongside PRS for Music. Each year the Awards showcase the great depth of talent that the jazz genre has in the UK, celebrating not just established artists but also showcasing those whose careers are just beginning.

“It also recognises the important work of Jazz FM in providing a platform for these artists and for supporting their work. Congratulations to all those shortlisted and we look forward to celebrating their work in October.”

The public can submit votes for nominees here.