THERE are eight Tory MPs left in the running to be the UK's next Prime Minister. 

After Boris Johnson resigned as Tory leader a total of 11 MPs put themselves forward to take over the top job.

Those who managed to get through to the next stage with 20 endorsements are: 

READ MORE: Scottish independence: UK Government asks Supreme Court to bin indyref2 case

Former health secretary Sajid Javid and foreign office minister Rehman Chisti removed themselves from the contest in the last hour before nominations closed.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps pulled out of the race and joined Sunak's team ahead of his campaign launch. 

Braverman posted and then subsequently deleted a tweet which claimed she had reached the nomination number - around half an hour before the first round closed.

But, the Attorney General got the numbers in the end, unlike former health secretary Javid.

The National: Javid, left, did not get enough votes like Sunak, centre, to replace Johnson, right.Javid, left, did not get enough votes like Sunak, centre, to replace Johnson, right.

Just minutes before 6pm, Javid released a statement which read: “Serving in Government is a true privilege. It has been just seven days since I took the difficult decision to resign from the most important job I have ever had, as health secretary during a pandemic.

“Since then, I have set out the values and policies I think are right for the future of our great country. I believe the party must now look outwards, not inwards, if we are to win again.

“There is an abundance of both ideas and talent in our party. One of the candidates will be given the honour of becoming Prime Minister.

“I look forward to seeing the debate unfold and to see colleagues working together as a united Conservative Party once the leadership election is concluded.”

READ MORE: Boris Johnson BLOCKS Labour bid to hold no confidence vote

What happens next?

The eight contenders still standing will face their first vote from their parliamentary colleagues on Wednesday. To advance to the next stage of the contest MPs will need at least 30 votes.

A second poll amongst MPs will be held on Thursday to further whittle down the list, with the aim being to have the final two candidates confirmed before Westminster breaks up for summer recess on Thursday July 21.

The two hopefuls will then spend the summer at hustings and events across the country as they bid to get Tory members on board. There are also three televised debates scheduled to take place. 

There will be a new Prime Minister in place by September 6, 1922 committee chairman Sir Graham Brady has said. 

What are the Leadership contenders saying now?

Commenting on his departure from the race, Sajid Javid tweeted: "I have withdrawn from the Conservative leadership race. We now have an opportunity to renew and reunite as a party.

"In the last few days we have already seen an abundance of talent and ideas. I look forward to working together and delivering for our great country."


Meanwhile, Kemi Badenoch tweeted her thanks to those who nominated her. 

She wrote: "I’m really grateful to all of my colleagues who took the time to nominate me. I’m now focussed on the votes ahead, uniting our party and delivering a fresh start."

Suella Braverman tweeted: "I’m happy that I’ve been nominated by my colleagues to stand for the leadership. I’m conscious of the honour they’ve done me. And I look forward to the first ballot tomorrow.

"Help me get this party back on track."

Nadhim Zahawi tweeted: "Delighted to be nominated by my colleagues to stand for the leadership of our Party, and the country. For the country that has given me so much, I am deeply honoured. I am British by choice, but I am #conservativebyconviction. I look forward to tomorrow’s ballot. #NZ4PM"