BBC Radio Scotland’s Young Traditional Musician 2018, Hannah Rarity, has released her debut album, Neath the Gloaming Star and it fulfils her early promise.

Supported by a stellar line-up of Scottish musicians, including Innes White (Karen Matheson, John McCusker), John Lowrie (Blue Rose Code, Adam Holmes & The Embers) and Euan Burton (Kris Drever, Siobhan Miller), Neath the Gloaming Star is a collection of 11 songs which allow Rarity to showcase her powerful voice which has been described as “beautifully engaging”.

READ MORE: Innovation and the dying art of recording a studio album

Neath the Gloaming Star features a carefully balanced mix of beloved traditional songs, self-penned tracks and soulful covers of some of Scotland’s best-loved songwriters of the folk-revival – two late greats are celebrated in re-workings of Andy M Stewart’s Where Are You (Tonight I Wonder?), and Rose O’ Summerlee by Davy Steele, which features folk legend Phil Cunningham. Meanwhile, more contemporary songs – Wander Through This Land and Wasting Time – further develop the emotive themes of loss, love, hardship and longing that run throughout the album.

An exciting and welcome addition to Scotland’s growing galaxy of folk stars.