SIX Scottish train stations have made it to the final of a competition celebrating those across the UK best cared for by volunteers.

Pitlochry, Kilmarnock, North Queensferry, Nairn, Weymss Bay and Glenfinnan are all nominated in the World Cup of Stations.

The competition – which was started up in 2019 and won by Glasgow Queen Street in 2020 - will this year put the spotlight on the work of dedicated volunteers that help make stations safe, welcoming and add value to their communities.

The winner – which will be decided through an online public vote - will be crowned the UK’s Best Loved Station.

READ MORE: PMQs: Oliver Dowden blunders with claim SNP in power for 13 years

Contenders will have to make it through group stages and semi-finals to clinch the crown.

The contest is being run by Rail Delivery Group and Community Rail Network. 

The National: North Queensferry station in Fife was chosen as one of the finalists North Queensferry station in Fife was chosen as one of the finalists (Image: NQ)

Pete Wishart, Perth and North Perthshire MP, welcomed Pitlochry’s nomination.

He said: “For its small size, Pitlochry Train Station is a hugely important station in Scotland.

“Falling in the middle of the route between Inverness and Edinburgh, it was used by over 120,000 passengers per year pre-Covid, with numbers steadily rising back up to that figure.  

“It grants easy access into Pitlochry, allowing visitors to enjoy all the fantastic amenities and stunning scenery the town has to offer. It is great to see the station being recognised for its many benefits, and I wish staff and locals the best of luck in the competition.”

The area’s MSP, John Swinney, added: “I am delighted that Pitlochry Station has been nominated for the World Cup of Stations, and I am sure that locals will be justifiably proud of this honour. 

"I would like to congratulate all those involved in the management and upkeep of the station for this magnificent achievement, and I would strongly urge those across Perthshire to vote for Pitlochry in this contest."

The winner of the contest will be crowned on May 26.

You can follow the action and vote for the station you want to win by visiting this webpage between May 22 and 26, following @raildeliverygrp on Twitter or by searching for the hashtag #WorldCupOfStations. Voting will take place on Twitter and on the website.