BORIS Johnson began his Cabinet reshuffle this morning, sacking a number of high-profile members including Andrea Leadsom, Esther McVey and Julian Smith.

There have been some surprises throughout the day after Sajid Javid quit as chancellor when Johnson demanded he fire all of his advisers, and Alok Sharma was appointed both Business Secretary and chair of the COP26 climate change conference, due to be held in Glasgow later this year. 

Former chief secretary to the Treasury Rishi Sunak was appointed Chancellor following the shock resignation.

Other major changes have included the appointment of Suella Braverman as Attorney General after Geoffrey Cox stood down.

Here are the ministers confirmed so far in the reshuffle:

- Chancellor: Rishi Sunak 

- Foreign Secretary: Dominic Raab

- Home Secretary: Priti Patel

- Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Michael Gove

- Justice Secretary: Robert Buckland

- Defence Secretary: Ben Wallace

- Health and Social Care Secretary: Matt Hancock

- Business Secretary: Alok Sharma

- International Trade Secretary: Liz Truss

- Work and Pensions Secretary: Therese Coffey

- Education Secretary: Gavin Williamson

- Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary: George Eustice

- Housing, Communities and Local Government Secretary: Robert Jenrick

- Transport Secretary: Grant Shapps

- Culture Secretary: Oliver Dowden

- International Development Secretary: Anne-Marie Trevelyan

- Leader of the House of Lords: Baroness Evans of Bowes Park

- Northern Ireland Secretary: Brandon Lewis

- Scottish Secretary: Alister Jack

- Welsh Secretary: Simon Hart

- Conservative Party chairman: Amanda Milling

- Attorney General (attending Cabinet): Suella Braverman

- Leader of the House of Commons (attending Cabinet): Jacob Rees-Mogg

- Chief Secretary to the Treasury (attending Cabinet): Stephen Barclay

- Chief Whip (attending Cabinet): Mark Spencer

Ministers who lost their seat around the Cabinet table include:

- Sajid Javid resigned as chancellor

- Julian Smith was sacked as Northern Ireland secretary

- Andrea Leadsom was sacked as business secretary

- Theresa Villiers lost her job as environment secretary

- Geoffrey Cox was sacked as attorney general

- Esther McVey lost her job as housing minister attending Cabinet