MPs have voted to oppose a no-deal Brexit by a majority of 43, inflicting another damaging defeat on Theresa May.

A total of 321 MPs voted in favour of an amended motion which rejects a no-deal withdrawal at any time and under any circumstances. The decision, though, is not legally binding.

The Prime Minister insisted afterwards to the House of Commons that a no-deal Brexit remains the default option if no agreement is reached with the EU.

READ MORE: The BBC just cut off Ian Blackford's speech to interview Nigel Farage

READ MORE: David Mundell could be sacked after abstaining on government vote

The motion was tabled by the Government, but in a surprise move in the House of Common session, MPs voted 312 to 308 – a majority of four – in favour of an amendment tabled by Tory former Cabinet minister Dame Caroline Spelman which imposed the stricter proposals against a no-deal withdrawal.

MPs also voted to reject the Malthouse amendment, which includes proposals to seek a delay to Brexit until May 22 by 374 votes to 164 – a majority 210.

Reacting to the vote, the SNP's Westminster leader Ian Blackford said: "We are in a constitutional crisis.

"What we see from the Prime Minister is a denial of the facts ... her deal is dead."

Blackford also said he was "delighted" that the House has expressed that under no circumstances it wants a no-deal Brexit.